Beacon Safe vs AssureOkay

Both are personal-safety check-in apps that alert your contacts if you miss a check-in — and neither tracks your location. Both can reach your contacts by email, SMS, and voice. Where Beacon Safe goes further: Apple Critical Alerts that cut through Do Not Disturb, a defined multi-phase escalation with a 24-hour re-alert, contact response tracking, and a genuinely free tier. Beacon Safe Plus is $19.99/mo.

How they stack up

Feature Beacon Safe AssureOkay
Free tier Yes — 3 contacts, email, unlimited check-ins On request — 3-day trial, then paid
Emergency contacts 3 (Free) / 10 (Plus) Unlimited
📧Email alerts to contacts Yes — Free + Plus Yes
💬SMS alerts to contacts Yes — Plus Yes
📞Voice call to your contacts Yes — automated, Plus Yes — AI voice call, Plus ($8.99/mo)
AI phone check-in call to you No Yes — Plus
Multi-phase escalation Email+SMS → voice +5 min → +4 hr → 24 hr Email + SMS, then AI voice calls to contacts on Plus
Contact response tracking Yes — tap-link, SMS reply, voice keypress Not specified
Check-in intervals Daily, 48h, or 72h Daily, weekly, or multiple per day
Server-side triggering (works phone off) Yes Yes
No location / GPS tracking Yes Yes
Digital will / document storage No Yes
Mood / wellness tracking No Yes
Paid plans $19.99/mo (Plus) $4.99 – $8.99/mo
Annual pricing $199.99/yr $49.99 – $89.99/yr
Platforms iOS, iPad, Android iOS, Android, web (PWA)
Languages English + Spanish Not specified
🔔

Alerts that cut through silent mode

On iPhone, Beacon Safe can use Apple Critical Alerts — they break through Do Not Disturb, Focus, and the mute switch, so your check-in reminders and alerts aren't missed. It's an Apple-restricted capability most check-in apps don't offer. Both apps reach your contacts across email, SMS, and voice.

📧Email 💬SMS 📞Voice
🎁

A real free tier

Beacon Safe's Free plan gives you 3 contacts, email alerts, unlimited check-ins, and contact response tracking — no trial clock. AssureOkay's free option is available only on request after a 3-day trial.

⚡

A defined escalation timeline

Miss a check-in and Beacon Safe runs a set sequence: email and SMS first, an automated voice call about 5 minutes later, a follow-up around 4 hours later, and a re-alert at 24 hours until someone confirms you're safe.

🔒

No location, works phone-off

Beacon Safe never uses GPS or location tracking, and its check-in deadline runs server-side — so alerts still fire if your phone is off, dead, or out of signal. Data is encrypted in transit and at rest.

The bottom line

Choose Beacon Safe if you want the most complete safety net: four alert channels (email, SMS, automated voice, push), four-phase escalation that keeps reaching people until someone responds, server-side triggering that fires even if your phone is dead or off, and zero location tracking — all with a genuinely free tier. Choose AssureOkay if you want AI phone check-in calls, digital-will storage, or the lowest entry price. For reliable, private, hands-off escalation to your contacts, Beacon Safe does more.

Where AssureOkay has the edge

AssureOkay offers things Beacon Safe doesn't: AI conversational phone check-in calls that ring you and confirm you're okay, digital-will and document storage, mood and wellness tracking, unlimited emergency contacts, and a web (PWA) version. Its Base plan also starts lower at $4.99/month. If a low entry price, an AI check-in companion, or document storage matter most to you, AssureOkay is worth a look. Beacon Safe focuses on getting a human to respond fast through multi-channel escalation — including a voice call to your contacts — with a genuinely free tier.

Common questions

What's the difference between Beacon Safe and AssureOkay?

Both are personal-safety check-in apps that alert your contacts if you miss a check-in, and neither tracks your location. Both can reach your contacts by email, SMS, and voice. AssureOkay adds AI phone check-in calls to you, digital-will storage, and wellness tracking. Beacon Safe's difference is Apple Critical Alerts, a defined multi-phase escalation with a 24-hour re-alert, contact response tracking, and a genuinely free tier.

Is Beacon Safe cheaper than AssureOkay?

Not at the entry level. AssureOkay's Base plan is $4.99/month, lower than Beacon Safe Plus at $19.99/month, and AssureOkay's Plus plan is $8.99/month. Beacon Safe offers a genuinely free, self-serve tier — 3 contacts, email alerts, and unlimited check-ins — while AssureOkay's free option is available only on request after a 3-day trial.

Does Beacon Safe call my emergency contacts?

Yes. If you miss a check-in, Beacon Safe sends email and SMS first, then places an automated voice call to your contacts about five minutes later, followed by a check around four hours later and a re-alert at 24 hours. AssureOkay also alerts contacts by email and SMS, and on its Plus plan can place an AI voice call to your contacts as well.

Do either app track my location?

No. Neither Beacon Safe nor AssureOkay uses GPS or location tracking. Beacon Safe works entirely from a check-in timer — if you don't check in by your deadline, your contacts are alerted, with no location data involved.

Does Beacon Safe work if my phone is off or dead?

Yes. Beacon Safe's check-in deadline and escalation run on its servers, so alerts still fire if your phone is off, dead, or out of signal. AssureOkay also runs server-side, so both keep working independently of your device.

What does AssureOkay offer that Beacon Safe doesn't?

AssureOkay bundles AI conversational phone check-in calls to you, digital-will and document storage, mood and wellness tracking, unlimited emergency contacts, and a web (PWA) version. Beacon Safe focuses on multi-channel escalation to your contacts — email, SMS, and voice — with a free tier and response tracking, for $19.99/month on Plus.

Multi-channel check-in protection

Beacon Safe is live on iOS and Android.

Download on the App Store ► Get it on Google Play